Board of Governors

Mr. Seke Somolu

Member, Laureates College Board

Seke Somolu is a writer, director and producer, working across various media including films, television, corporate videos and theatre.

Seke’s directing credits includeMama Put (2006), an award-winning short film produced as part of the MNET New Directions program; WetinDey(2007-2008), a Nigerian TV drama produced by the BBC World Service Trust; and various documentary inserts for the TV talk show Moments with Mo(2010-2011). He has directed commercials for Coca-Cola and the Society for Family Health. Most recently he directed and produced corporate promotional videos for the Nigeria Leadership Initiative, and British Council Nigeria. His screenwriting credits include the MNET drama series Edge of Paradise and Tinsel.

Seke has a Bachelor’s degree in International Relations from Syracuse University; and a Master’s degree in Film from Columbia University. In 2007 he was nominated for the Rolex Mentor & Protégé Arts Initiative, and in 2008, he was the recipient of the Young Screen Entrepreneur Award, presented by the British Council Nigeria.

Mr. Gbenro Oluwole

Member, Laureates College Board

Mr. Olugbenro Oluwole, an insurance broker by profession and a member of various socio-economic associations, is a patron of many social and educational causes including The Nigerian Economics Students Association, the Nigerian Red Cross and the Federal Nigerian Society for the Blind as well as a fellow of the Life Assurance Association and former council member and treasurer of the Nigerian Council of Registered Insurance Brokers.

Mrs. Oreoluwa Lesi

Member, Laureates College Board

Mrs. Oreoluwa Lesi has a Bachelors degree in Economics (Essex University, U.K.) a Masters degree in Analysis, Design and Management of Information Systems (London School of Economics & Political Science), a Certificate in Applied Sciences (Harvard University’s Extension School) and a Certificate in Social Sector Management (Pan African University’s Enterprise Development Centre).

She is the Founder and Executive Director of the Women’s Technology Empowerment Centre (W.TEC), a Nigerian non-profit organization set-up in 2008 to encourage and motivate more girls to pursue careers in the emerging and fast rising field of technology.

She has earned national and international awards and laurels which include: Anita Borge Change Agent Award, SME’s 100 Most Innovative Female-Owned Business in Nigeria (2017), Top 100 Young People in Technology Award (2014, 2016), Listing as One of New African Woman Magazine’s Top African Women in Technology (2014), Chosen Youth Leadership Award from LaRoche Foundation. She is also a Vital Voices Lead Fellow (conferred on emerging and established women globally) and Ashoka Fellow for her recognition as a social entrepreneur.

Her works have been nationally and internationally featured in electronic and print media.

Mrs. Anu Adio-Moses

Member, Laureates College Board

Mrs. Anuoluwapo Adio-Moses, has over 30 years experience as a teacher in French and English languages as well as in modern history and as a principal and school administrator in various renowned educational institutions in Nigeria including Atlantic Hall Secondary School and Yaba College of Technology Secondary School. She currently serves as the managing director of the Women, Law and Development Center.

Mr. Lanre Adewusi

Member, Laureates College Board

Mr. Lanre Adewusi is the CEO of Folktales Nigeria Limited, a printing and publishing company. He brings his experience as a secondary school teacher and a contributing writer for secondary school textbooks as well as his knowledge from years serving as an Examiner in English language for the West African Examination Council to bear in his role as a board member of Laureates College.

Late Engr. Foluseke Somolu

Chairman, Laureates College Board

Late Engr. Abidemi Foluseke Somolu (FNSE, FIET/FIEE, FNIM, SMIEE) was retained in his former school, Ibadan Grammar School, by his Principal, the legendary educationist, Arch Deacon Emmanuel Alayande, to teach Mathematics and Physics. He repeated the experience as an undergraduate and immediately after graduation. He was a voluntary part –time instructor at the NEPA Training School for several years and, later he served as a part-time lecturer at the Department of Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of Lagos, Akoka, where he was appointed an “Adjunct Professor” of Electrical Engineering. He was president of the Nigeria Society of Engineers (2002-2003). He was Senior Special Assistant on Power Sector Reform to two administrations President Obasanjo (2005-2008).

Amongst many of his numerous awards are the Nigerian Society of Engineers Golden Jubilee Distinguished Merit Award (2008), the Award of Excellence (International Conference on Power System Operation and Planning) and the University of Lagos Alumni Distinguished Award.  He was a recipient in 1996 of a letter of commendation from the government of Oyo State for his contribution to the development of educational facilities and education generally in the State. He was cited in the Newswatch ‘Who is Who’ in the world and features in the University of Lagos Hall of Fame (2006).

As a philanthropic contribution to the academia, he coordinated, along with Professor James Momoh (former Head of Department at Howard University, Washington D.C., USA), the selection of bright Nigerian secondary school students for the Howard University Electrical Engineering Summer School Programme. This has led to several Nigerian students benefiting from Howard University Scholarship awards in Power Engineering since 1993.

An avid reader and writer, he presented 30 papers at international conferences on power engineering and co-authored a book with Engr. Lawrence Amu, titled “The Development of Nigerian Electric Power System (1973-1990)”.

Dr. (Mrs) Olatokunbo Somolu

Vice Chairman, Laureates College Board

Dr. (Mrs.) O. A. Somolu (FNSE), for her part, also taught Mathematics and Physics at the Our Lady Of Apostles, Yaba, after her Higher School Certificate (HSC) course at Queens College, Yaba, Lagos. She graduated in 1973 with a bachelor’s degree in Civil / Structural Engineering from University of Lagos, Akoka. She later in 1978 obtained a PhD in Civil Engineering from the University of Lagos, Akoka, thus becoming the first Nigerian woman to obtain a Doctorate degree in any field of Engineering. Then, she joined the services of the Yaba College of Technology, as a lecturer in the Civil Engineering Department of the institution, where she lectured the courses: the “Theory of Structures and Strength of Materials” and “Fluid Mechanics” in the Civil Engineering Department, and later became the Head of Civil Engineering Department.

In 1982, she joined the services of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) as an Assistant Chief Engineer. She rose to become a Group General Manager (Engineering and Technology Division) in 2003, making her the first woman ever to head an engineering division in the Nigerian oil industry. On her part, she continues to meet many of her former students who are now in responsible positions across the country in the engineering and allied professions.